Coming Out

I came out (transman) late; I’m 24(25-July), and it was hard and easy. But then again, is telling your parents  something serious ever just easy?

They are a major part of my life, and I hate disappointing them. It was easy because they are understanding and caring, and supporting. It was hard because I was afraid that they wouldn’t accept me and my change but, I don’t think it was a shock to them when I said it. Just like they waited for me to announce my lesbianism, I think they waited for this one as well.

They weren’t the first people I told. No, that coveted spot went to my wonderful girlfriend of 2 1/2 years. She is my rock, my boulder(because when I’m down I can lean on her without us both falling), she took it in stride. And as well as any girlfriend could/should. I think she believed it was a long time coming. I thank her for that.

Next was both my two sisters and my sister-in-law (separate occasions). Easy as pie. Love and support from the beginning. Then my brothers; they’re slowly coming around. One more than the others. I have to press them; break 24 years of familiarity for the unknown, something they don’t really understand.

Next was Facebook, it started with a simple name change post; Asking if anyone didn’t like it, the delete button was always available. Luckily, most of my friends are apart of the LGBT community or very accepting in general. I’m sure a few people deleted me but I’m too happy with myself to care.

My closest family besides my parents and brothers and sisters were also accepting, most admitting they knew it was a long time coming. I’m glad. It breaks the ice, the tension that cuts me like a saw. It feels invigorating.

I think the hardest thing is trying to get people, family included, to use my new name. To correct complete strangers in on my gender pronoun. To see the looks and hear the whispers. But if the overall outcome is happiness then so be it.

I go to therapy and most importantly I talk about it, I don’t brush it aside. I’ll always be Alyssa Dright; Alyssa paved the way to the man I am today. She will always be apart of me. She is He and I am She.

I came out late; but like they say: BETTER LATE THAN NEVER!

 

Leave a Reply

